PDX Adventures

pdx

My best friend Amber and I have both been itching to get out of town and since I’d never been to Portland before, we decided to take a day trip yesterday. We left early in the morning and the drive down was really spooky; the fog was so thick that it felt like we were in a horror film! Luckily, we managed to make it to Portland safe and sound.

We started our day at See See Motor Coffee Co. where we met up with the lovely Shawna of Chubby Cartwheels. We’d never met in person before but have been following each other online for awhile. I’ve been a fan of her work and was super stoked to finally be able to meet. We talked a bit about the fat positive community in Portland and she gave us some great advice about the community we’re trying to foster in Seattle. I’d love to collab with the PDX Fats and hope we can collab on an event. Shawna is the sweetest, most down-to-earth babe and I can’t wait until we can hang out again!

After coffee, Amber and I tried to hit up Moonshadow Magick Pagan Shoppe but they weren’t open. According to their hours, they were supposed to be open but there was no one in sight and no one answering the phone. Total bummer. Amber was scrolling through social media and found out that The Wild Unknown was vending at the Give Good Gift Holiday Pop-Up. She’d been wanting to get her hands on their Tarot Guidebook so we decided to head over to Union/Pine and check out the event.

The show was small and super Pinterest-y (not really my aesthetic), but it was nice to see the strong community support of local artists and small businesses. I was looking forward to getting my photo taken with Hipster Santa but alas, he was nowhere to be found. Much to Amber’s delight, we found The Wild Unknown table and she proceeded to throw down some bills for their Tarot Guidebook.

I’ve been wanting to check out Fat Fancy for freakin’ ever, so that was our next destination. Driving around in that area sucked but it was totally worth it. Fat Fancy was everything I hoped it would be and more. The store was super cute and stocked with an impressive assortment of clothing and accessories for fat babes. I was in heaven. After trying on a bunch of tops, I finally settled on a half sleeve velvet baby doll top. Total 90s Nancy Downs witchy vibes. Definitely my aesthetic.

We were famished from shopping and grabbed a quick bite to eat at Pizza Schmizza before heading back to Belmont to meet up my friend and former Los Angelean Sheli. I’ve known Sheli since the indie rock show-hopping days of my youth. We enjoyed the same bands, had many mutual friends, and shared an interest in graphic design. A decade later and we both somehow ended up in the Pacific Northwest. Life is funny that way.

Anyway, she drove us all over Portland pointing out the hip bars, restaurants, and art galleries. I definitely took some mental notes for future visits. We also returned to Moonshadow since it was down the street from her house. The variety of merchandise was impressive and I did find myself drooling over a few things. Unfortunately, the employee (or owner?) managing the shop that day seemed uninterested in making a sale. I went up to the counter to buy a smudge stick and stood there awkwardly trying to get his attention. He looked over at me and then turned back to his computer to tend to his Facebook. Nice.

We ended our Portland tour at Salt & Straw, where I’m pretty sure I had the best ice cream of my life. Cinnamon Snickerdoodle gets two enthusiastic thumbs up from me. I can’t stop thinking about how damn delicious it was! After ice cream, Amber and I got back on the road and headed home. Our little day trip was a success: I got to spend some quality time with Amber, met up with some wonderful people, did some shopping, and familiarized myself with the area. Next time I visit, I definitely want to spend more than a day. Looking forward to my next trip!

Leave a Reply

